Carlos Castaneda – quotes

Here are some of quotes by Carlos Castaneda:

“You have everything needed for the extravagant journey that is your life.”

“We either make ourselves miserable, or we make ourselves strong. The amount of work is the same.”

“The basic difference between an ordinary man and warrior is that a warrior takes everything as a challenge while an ordinary man takes everything as a blessing or a curse.”

“The aim is to balance the terror of being alive with the wonder of being alive.”

“In a world where death is the hunter, my friend, there is no time for regrets or doubts. There is only time for decisions.”

“A man of knowledge lives by acting, not by thinking about acting.”

“For me there is only the traveling on paths that have heart, on any path that may have heart, and the only wortwhile challenge is to traverse its full length — and there I travel looking, looking breathlessly.”

“For me the world is weird because it is stupendous, awesome, mysterious, unfathomable; my interest has been to convince you that you must assume responsibility for being here, in this marvelous world, in this marvelous desert, in this marvelous time. I want to convince you that you must learn to make every act count, since you are going to be here for only a short while, in fact, too short for witnessing all the marvels of it.”

“A man goes to knowledge as he goes to war: wide-awake, with fear, with respect, and with absoulute assurance. Going to knowledge or going to war in any other manner is a mistake.”

“Nobody knows who I am or what I do. Not even I.”

“This question is one that only a very old man asks. Does this path have a heart? All paths are the same: they lead nowhere. They are paths going through the bush, or into the bush. In my own life I could say I have traversed long long paths, but I am not anywhere. Does this path have a heart? If it does, the path is good; if it doesnt, it is of no use. Both paths leads nowhere; but one has a heart, the other doesnt. One makes for a joyful journey; as long as you follow it, you are one with it. the other will make you curse your life. One makes you strong; the other weakens you.”

“Forget the self and you will fear nothing, in whatever level of awareness you find yourself to be.”

“Think about it: what weakens us is feeling offended by the deeds and misdeeds of our fellow men. Our self-importance requires that we spend most of our lives offended by someone.”

“Only as a warrior can one withstand the path of knowledge. A warrior cannot complain or regret anything. his life is an endless challenge, and challenges cannot possibly be good or bad. Challenges are simply challenges.”

“The average man is hooked to his fellow men, while the warrior is hooked only to infinity.”

“Seek and see all the marvels around you. You will get tired of looking at yourself alone, and that fatigue will make you deaf and blind to everything else.”

“We are men and our lot in life is to learn and to be hurled into inconceivable new worlds.”

“The internal dialogue is what grounds people in daily world. The world is such and such or so and so, only because we talk to ourselves about its being such and such and so and so. The passageway into the world of shamans opens up after the warrior has learned to shut off his internal dialogue.”

“I have no routines or personal history. One day I found out that they were no longer necessary for me and, like drinking, I dropped them. One must have the desire to drop them and then one must proceed harmoniously to chop them off, little by little. If you have no personal history, no explanations are needed; nobody is angry or disillusioned with your acts. And above all no one pins you down with their thoughts. It is best to erase all personal history because that makes us free from the encumbering thoughts of other people. I have, little by little, created a fog around me and my life. And now nobody knows for sure who I am or what I do. Not even I. How can I know who I am, when I am all this?”

“The average man acts only if there is a chance for profit. Warriors say they act not for profit but for spirit.”

Dario Ples, 13.7.2017.

Leave a Reply

